Fiction, Thriller

Accidents Happen by Louise Millar

51cwkpbz0kl

Monsters are made, not born.”

I found this book as I was wandering the library looking for some light summer reading. I had never heard of it before but the title grabbed my attention. Also, who doesn’t love a cover of a woman running away in the woods?

Accidents Happen by Louise Millar focuses on Kate Parker whose terrible bad luck has caused her a lot of anxiety that is seriously affecting her and her son’s life. Kate meets a man named Jago who has decided to help her overcome her anxiety about what could happen to her or her family. However, is it really a streak of bad luck or something much worse?

Starting out, this book was effortless to read and felt pretty straight forward (minus the names of the characters that felt like they were plucked from a Top 20 names from the 90s). It is immediately obvious that Kate is actually being stalked which I found fairly interesting. I almost always enjoy when you can see the point of view from the antagonist. As the book went on though, it really seemed to feel more like a romance between Jago and Kate as the chapters from the stalker decreased.

I did, however, love the ending and the way it made me feel anxious and stressed. And by the ending, I mean the last eighty pages. I just wish that the rest of the book (which is categorized as a thriller) made me feel that way. I feel like if the pacing were done a little better  I would have enjoyed it much more. Most of the time I forgot I was reading a thriller due to the constant obsession with Jago.

Overall, It wasn’t a terrible book but it won’t be one that I read again or purchase. It’s great for some light beach reading but if you’re looking for a keep you on the edge of your seat thriller, this book isn’t for you. I would give it 2/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

